One Down – Three to Go!

Yesterday we finished the 30 hour course at Z . Although I haven’t finished reading the participants’ responses yet, I know that many of the teachers and their principals have asked to organize a new course, an additional 30 hours. It is good to know that most of the participants completed the program and were left with  a desire to continue, to learn more. Many commented that they were in the midst of an exciting process with their pupils and feel the need to hear more. There was total agreement that the course should be 60 hours long and not 30.

The atmosphere was positive although it certainly was a bit noisier than usual. I related some of the noise to the pressure teachers are under at the moment – all have parent teacher evenings at this time and reports are due to be handed in in the next few weeks.

Yesterday’s session was about children with difficulties learning to write but only a brief introduction – last year, in the 60 hr course, I devoted at least two sessions to this important topic.

When I described the assignment there was agreement that the task is fair and nobody started panicking as they did last year. They were assured by the assessment rubric I presented together with the task and one of the participants commented that I really do practice what I preach.

This interesting group was extremely appreciative and convinced me with their comments and thanks that this learning experience (as short as it may be), really made a difference to the way they teach writing, see themselves as teachers of literacy and most important, changed the way they look at their pupils. Even if only some of this is retained, it was well worth my time and effort.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *